//
you're reading...
Musings, Uncategorized

REFLECTIONS ON HOMOPHOBIA, LOVE AND HATE..AND WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS ABOUT LOVE

11215117_1021769501214624_7869337108578719129_nI woke up on New Year’s day to two stories dominating my social networking timeline (other than all our holiday posts of course) :
1) The passing of Natalie Cole-May her soul rest in peace and all her music about love and authenticity in spite of her troubles. She left us a gift of music – an Anthology I have been glad to be witness to.
2) The marriage of Reverend Mpho Tutu to her long term partner

None of the stories shocked me- as is my nature, because everything happens when it happens. It’s NORMAL for me- people get married, people die.

It’s the noise that follows the second story that has caught my attention and just observation, especially fro a social dynamics perspective- and just reading all the comments, debates and I found myself thinking:

Hating the homophobe for their homophobia is the same as the homophobe hating the homosexual for their sexual orientation. It’s all judgement. Ask yourself- WHO gave you the right?
It’s pity I don’t run a church- but if I did, I probably would be preaching about one thing every day of the year- there’s certainly enough material. LOVE.
I am not an expert at Jesus-or religion for that matter, but what I know about the underlying message of Jesus was LOVE.

Luke 6:37-38, Matthew 5:7, Matthew 6:14,15 Matthew 7:1, Matthew 18:35, Luke 6:36, Luke 23:16 1 Corinthians 13: 4-7, Ephesians 4: 32, Colossians 3:13, Romans 2:1,2, James 2:13, James 4: 11,12

All this in the new testament alone.
And this is just from the Bible. If I go through the Kor’an – the teachings about LOVE would fill this essay.

Love is about understanding and accepting people for WHO they are, not who you think they should be- there’s no requirement that the person HAS TO BE in your life either.

Here’s what I am an expert at tho- Human Behaviour, and I know one thing FOR SURE about human behaviour- it’s bloody complex!
I know another thing- our beliefs and motives cloud everything we read, do and say- and regardless of one’s proclamations, one’s beliefs will consistently show up.

But then again, I believe in LOVE since I have been given LOVE, so what do I know about hatred? Perhaps there’s a great argument to be made for hating your Brother or your Sister for their beliefs. Perhaps I am limited by my own beliefs from not seeing the power that lies in hate.
Yes…perhaps I would not have a congregation at all in my church – so I will stick to my day job- and leave the preaching to the professionals.

I will close this reflection with one of the important Buddhist principles I learned last year:
“If you throw a stick at the dog, it will chase the stick- but if you throw a stick at the lion, it will turn and check WHO threw the stick”

Are you the Dog or the Lion?

PS: Replace HOMOPHOBIA with RACISM, SEXISM, AGEISM and any other -ism- and read the post again- and see if you get a different sense.
Have a blessed day!

About The Muse

I Coach Legends:You will never know who my clients are, but you have seen their work- you probably follow them! *smile* Music Executive,Academic,Entrepreneur, Passionate African-living with purpose!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “REFLECTIONS ON HOMOPHOBIA, LOVE AND HATE..AND WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS ABOUT LOVE

  1. I can tell from your blog you are not a funamentalist in any sense.
    You extract the best from the Bible and other holy documents. I commend you wholeheartedly its my own method.
    These documents also have instructions about behaviour and that is where the problem lies.
    Fundamentalists cannot judge the Bible they have lost their sense of judgement.
    It is curious that they can and do judge each other and argue about interpretation.
    When religious books are held in higher reverance than humanity we are heading for trouble.

    Posted by kaptonok | January 3, 2016, 2:04 pm
    • Hi there- thanks for your comment and kind compliment. Yes, I have learned a long time ago that fundamentalism in any belief system is the foundation for the splits in humanity. Many times we forget why we started doing what we are doing- I figure underneath all of this there’s an intent to SERVE- but we get it so mixed up. Thank you again for reading and commenting.

      Posted by The Muse | January 3, 2016, 2:18 pm
      • Absolutely but fudamentalists serve with strings attached give me the man or woman who serves with loving concern.
        Keep those reflections going.

        Posted by kaptonok | January 3, 2016, 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Check my tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Share this Blog with your friends

Bookmark and Share

Afrigator

Subscribe to this Blog

Subscribe
